How To Harden a Magic Shell

Dear Reid,

I recently purchased “Magic Shell” ice cream topping and I was wondering if the surface it is put on needs to be cold to harden.

Sincerely,
Getting Hard

This is one of the great questions of life. Although you may think that the topping hardens due to exposure to air, it is in fact the cold that causes it to harden. However, if you happen to pour the topping onto a surface that is not cold, even a surface that is naturally quite warm, it is possible to get it to harden. Try rubbing an ice cube or pouring an extremely cold liquid on this warm survace – be sure to rub it slowly and tenderly – before applying the “Magic Shell” topping. I’m sure it will work, although I can’t for the life of me imagine what you would want to use it on besides ice cream and asses.


